Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Thrift Therapy April 3, 2008

Filed under: Thrift Scores & Pat and Charlie — twlowenstein @ 11:39 am
Tags: ,

I was hoping for some good news yesterday and I didn’t get it. But as my good friend Vonda said, “I mean, damn, it’s not like you’re 5. You know the world doesn’t revolve around you and you don’t always get everything you want!” Everyone needs a friend like Vonda!

As far as bad news goes, it wasn’t so bad. I comported myself well and would not have changed a thing I had control over -so what’s a girl to do?

Thrift therapy!!!

I’m hesitant to share my secret spot. It really is my own little Cheers. But if the crowd on opening day is an indicator, the cat’s already out of the bag! So here goes – In the church garage down the street from me, there is an ongoing rummage sale. Charlie and Pat, nicest folks in town, run the biannual church rummage sale and open the garage 3 days a week in the spring for folks to pick from the donations. I’ve been going for years and they know me and my kiddos by name (and just about everybody else who walks in). My oldest son wanted to take the morning off from school to go but sent them a drawing in his stead.

Here are Charlie and Pat standing by the vintage washer, it’s not for sale so don’t even ask!

cimg3766.jpg

cimg3734.jpg

Here are the gems I passed on (I’ll do a post of my greatest hits another time):

cimg3740.jpg

Pink heaven!

cimg3735.jpg

Craft goodness at a fair price.

cimg3755.jpg

Jet setting John!

cimg3761.jpg

I dare you to hang this in your nursery.

cimg3739.jpg

This terrifies me.

cimg3738.jpg

As does this. O hai, Big Bird!

cimg3745.jpg

These did make it home with us (little guy’s choice) and they are much smaller than they look in this photo.

And just in case anyone thinks I’m handling my disappointment in a healthy fashion, here’s a shot of a different kind of therapy!

cimg3781.jpg

 

7 Responses to “Thrift Therapy”

  1. Lacey Says:

    oooooo! garage sales rock…. mmmm and so does pizza, (says the girl with the belly full of pizza hut). A great disappointment reversing tool! And of course the ice cream is a definite must!

  2. Good LORD, woman! Are you sane? How did you pass up the giant wooden knitting needles? The pig (I’m assuming) cookie jar?
    And don’t get me started on the dog-holding clown.

  3. paperdollsforboys Says:

    Melissa,
    What? You got no love for the lady on the moon?
    Me

    • Dreama Says:

      uffa… su raidue .it nn va il news 24…e poi oggi in fumetteria non avevano nemmeno il manga di rozen maiden e ergo proxy… k giornata sfigatosa.cmq mi è venuto un dubbio ( lo so non centra nulla con l’argomento di cui si parla) ma Aires e Benares sono stati tratti da nomi di due città??aires: besbes-aireunonares:la città santa dell’india, varanasi, si chiamava benares.scommetto che ti ho beccata!!!

    • Paul-I’ve had a lot of success with that technique when it comes to writing short stories. Usually, I just have a “picture” in mind and like you, I sit down to describe it or write about it, and sometimes the magic does indeed happen and soon I’ve unearthed a wonderful story I didn’t even know I had in me. Thanks,Shannon

  4. laura Says:

    Looks like such fun. I hope the therapy helped, my buggy would have had many varioius types of the best help for me chocolate. Monkey bread is’nt bad either. Hope you like it.

  5. Complete Stranger Says:

    Go back and get the clown and dog painting for Dan. I will pay you for it! Do you remember that I went to this church with you and met the folks. Great place. Glad to see you handled your disappointment well. Proud of you. A Complete stranger.


Leave a Reply

