Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

SOWA August 24, 2009

Filed under: Thrift Scores & Pat and Charlie,Uncategorized — paperdollsforboys @ 8:51 am
Tags: , , , , ,

3850192651_08b9f86802_b

I wish I would have asked what SoWa stands for.  SoMA or SoBA I would get.  Anyone?

3850954246_a4a61d7af6_b

Every Sunday, 10-4,  in South Boston happens “New England’s largest outdoor bazaar”.  It’s open May through October 25th.  There is a Farmers Market, a Hand-Made section – which was an open air Etsy, and an Import Market.  Plus live music and food.  Good times.

3850144415_ff9f241028_bMy favorite was the antique market.  It’s housed inside an enormous hollowed out old factory. It was stunning.  The prices were also a little stunning.

3850163889_d11d505cae_b

Isn’t this beautiful?  I have a thing for old game boards and paraphernalia.  My husband & I got excited about this piece for above the mantel but the 250 price tag killed it.  I think that a big part of what I love about vintage is the hunt and the score.  The rescue!  When I buy or curb something I feel like I am taking an under-appreciated relic and giving it it’s proper respect.  If I were to buy a warped wooden wheel for 250, I would feel like a sucker.  Hmmm, how to justify these feelings with my Etsy shop (that SHALL RIDE AGAIN!).

3850978882_c9407b988d_bI like a shop that leads with a negative.  Another thing I will NOT being doing is buying this Chanukiah (name of the menorah for Chanukah).  I really love the this one.  Much of the Judaica is not to my taste but this is perfection.  Except the 300 dollar price tag.  I am assuming it’s silver so maybe the price is justified but I could not stomach it.

DSC_0009

This little sock doll was fetching.  I think it was 22 dollars.  A lot of things were priced at 22 dollars.

DSC_0004

I liked these red chairs and this vendor was selling a lot of wire gym baskets.  15 each if you bought 3 or more.  I thought that was fair but forgot to go back and pick some up.   Excuse to go next Sunday.

Bought at SoWa

This is the one thing I did buy.  It’s an illustration of Simple Simon and the Pieman.  It was an insert in the Boston Globe.

DSC_0053

The vendor shrewdly gave my youngest the shell he was admiring, thus securing my purchase of the illustration.  At 5 dollars, I walked away happy.  As did my shell loving little guy.

 

7 Responses to “SOWA”

  1. Natalie Says:

    Good stuff….too bad about the prices.

  2. Looks like a great way to spend the day!

  3. Mimi K Says:

    SOWA = South of Washington

  4. Lauren Says:

    a wire gym basket is exactly what i need for my bike… i’ll go with you next sunday

  5. Visty Says:

    I always wanted to know what SOWA meant, too, back when we lived in NH and MA.

  6. ingri Says:

    i was going to suggest they put the M on upside down :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.