Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Before & After & More Before July 11, 2009

Filed under: Home — paperdollsforboys @ 12:17 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

We found 2 of these chairs on the curb one night on the way to dinner at our friends’ place.  It was about 6 or 7 years ago and they have been in our basement since.  My husband and I toyed with the idea of reupholstering them ourselves but it is not a hobby for the dust mite allergic.  Now that we are moving from our very small apartment into a house, we finally got them restored and reupholstered.

Before

DSC_0009

DSC_0014

After

DSC_0003

I also found a midcentury tile topped teak side table on the curb that I have since put in between the chairs.  This is basically the only furniture in the new place so far.

And Before Again:

Surprising thing I have enjoyed about the process of moving # 1 = getting rid of STUFF.  As you may recall, I have trouble with stuff, so weeding out has been freeing.  And yet, as I have been tossing junk at the thrift store as fast as I can, a steady stash of new treasures has been flowing into the garage.

DSC_0002

Can I just say that I never thought I would post a photo of our garage on here.

Check out the door someone put on the curb!  It has it’s original door knob and handle and it’s just beautiful.  I have plans for this door in my new craft room.  Thrifted green chair also headed to the craft room, I have already cut off the skirt and vacuumed round 1 of the cat hair off it.  Peeking out from the back are some red lockers mined from Craigslist that we’re going to use in the entryway.  Can you see the Lucite bar cart or is it like Wonder Woman’s plane?  I got the baby scale and the chalk board at the same yard sale.  I think I got them both for 5 dollars.  The baby scale may make an appearance in the bathroom and the chalkboard either in the kitchen or rec room.  In the trash bag is a vintage croquet set I got at auction in NC for CHEAP!  We brought it to the new house last night for a BBQ and I heard myself telling the children, “Those are not HAMMERS!” as they used the mallets to beat the yard.  Maybe they will be tucked away on the porch or I’ll put my wine down, stop talking with my friends, get up off my butt and show them how to actually play the game.  One or the other…

So stick with me, this is probably going to turn into a house blog for a spell here!

 

12 Responses to “Before & After & More Before”

  1. Natalie Says:

    Your reupholstered chairs look fabulous. I love all your great finds and can’t wait to see more as you decorate.

  2. I LOVE the chairs! They would look very nice with MY sofa! Wish I was close by. We could do some major damage together. I have been know to pull a door off the curb myself. In fact, I won first place with the display I made with it when working at the BX in Ft. Worth. We must share some of the same genes!

  3. Fabulous! Esp love the door, chalkboard and lockers! Great to hear you’ll be a house blog for a while, I love house blogs!bvg

  4. Complete Stranger Says:

    Love your reupholstered chairs; the print is really cool! Your ideas for some of your garage loot are so creative; and I look forward to the chronicled house decorating…and to seeing it in person. Proud of your throw-aways too!

  5. mollie Says:

    they look so great! every time we drive by good looking trash dh speeds past. “you’ve brought all of that crap home before,” he says. ::crickets::

  6. Visty Says:

    Wow, really wonderful! They pop off of that beautiful floor!!

  7. Kathy Says:

    Trace,

    The chairs look AMAZING! I can’t wait to get over there and see the place. And, nah, I wouldn’t put your wine down… just go for a distressed look in the lawn.

    K.

  8. cindy Says:

    great job! and I love old doors as well-ESP then knobs. wait, I guess the men i meet are the same.

  9. d Says:

    Hey T. I like the chairs. They sort of jump out at you. Also, those are good looking floors. d

  10. Ellen B. Says:

    I can’t believe you found those gorgeous teak Danish modern chairs on the curb!!! Wow! Those chairs (in their former condition) would be sooooo expensive, here in Los Angeles! Score!

  11. Paige Says:

    Fab chairs, just F.A.B.! And that door, too. And the croquet set, and chalkboard…


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.