Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Bloggy Playdate January 4, 2009

Filed under: Craft,Family & Friends — paperdollsforboys @ 11:59 pm
Tags: ,

Yesterday I met my first virtual friend in person.  Mimi Kircher, funky doll creator  mimis-tattooed-man-doll2 and all around amazing artist, invited me over for tea, a chat and to check out her studio.  I thoroughly enjoyed myself and look forward to hanging out again!  It was fun to talk blog, flickr, fabric, family, etsy, and art with her.  In addition to chatting, I could have spent hours just photographing her home.  It was chock full of life and creativity.  I think if I could make up an ideal job for myself it just might be photographing the living spaces of others – peeking behind the curtains!

Here are some shots from her studio:

mimis-brushes

mimi-gourd-dollface

mimi-bug

mimi-pincushion

And I took this one on the way down from her attic studio.  The portrait is of her as a child and the woman in the mirror is the talented Mimi herself.

mimi-past-present

I was trying to explain to my husband that this was MAJOR blog fodder, meeting Mimi Kirchner!

I couldn’t show up empty handed. I was inspired by her quote in the latest Craft Magazine about the oft used phrase, “This is not your grandmother’s craft”.  Click on the link and read it, it’s a good one.

dsc_00011

I sewed some buttons from my Granny’s tin on a vintage piece of linen with lovely french knots (a skill which escapes me).

So thanks for a lovely afternoon, Mimi, and for sharing your non-virtual space with me!

And if you’d like to check out more of her work, including the very fine mustachioed and tattooed men, click here to be whisked away to her etsy shop.

 

9 Responses to “Bloggy Playdate”

  1. Complete Stranger Says:

    Isn’t it lovely when two kindred, creative spirits meet.

  2. melissa s. Says:

    i read her article in craft and loved it! i don’t know who to be more jealous of though – you for getting to hang out with her or her for getting to hang out with you??? hmmm, pondering…

  3. Anne Says:

    I can’t make french knots either – why? Happy new year, it will be nice to get back to my blog friends.

  4. cindy Says:

    awesome! I love seeing other peoples living spaces. the button hanky is adorable. check this site out you’ll like it http://www.theselby.com/

  5. ohhhh I love the black boy ! sooo great !
    sincerely

  6. lexi Says:

    Damn, I wish you invited me.

  7. [...] hung it up over my desk. Here is her report of the visit. I think it is too funny that she photographed all the doll bits that [...]

  8. Sarah Says:

    Hi Tracey,
    I love Mimi Kirchner’s dolls. Lucky you having a visit and a chance to have a nose around-I agree about your potential perfect job! I am going back to have a look at your blog now which looked intriguing as I scrolled down!

  9. pat griffith Says:

    cool – I am a Mimi fan.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.