Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

It’s a Pirate’s Life for Me December 10, 2008

Filed under: Chanukah — paperdollsforboys @ 11:11 am
Tags: , ,

We dredged the Chanukah box out of the basement today.

dsc_0055

Two years ago we had “Piranukah”.  Piranukah = Pirate Chanukah, of course!

Chanukah is the one Jewish holiday that is not religiously based so we took a little liberty  and came up with Piranukah.  Here is our treasure chest that we used to store our 8 nights of gifts in and to set the tone for general pirate merriment.

dsc_0056

Unorthodox, uh-huh.  Fun as all get out, you bet!  We’re undecided if we’re going to go with a theme this year or not.  Egyptonukah perhaps?

I’ve seen a lot of great Christmas crafts in bloggertown but haven’t found any cool Chanukah crafts.  Anyone have any on their blogs or seen some in their travels?

Thanks and have a good one, no matter what you call it!!!!

 

13 Responses to “It’s a Pirate’s Life for Me”

  1. Alexis Says:

    What a great idea! Have any girly Chanukah theme ideas? Fairies or Princesses, maybe? How about a Charry Potter Chanukah?
    I’m working on a post of Chanukah crafts, but I’d better get going on it because the Festival of Lights is just around the corner!

  2. melissa s. Says:

    i’d suggest ‘dinoukah’ but it really doesn’t have that ‘piranukah’ ring to it…hmmmm.

  3. melissa s. Says:

    and now i have the ‘dreidel dreidel dreidel’ south park song stuck in my head.

  4. Anne Says:

    It seems the blog would is lacking in Chanukah crafting. This may be your calling. I love to hear how people who don’t celebrate Christmas celebrate.

  5. Complete Stranger Says:

    With your crafty creative mind, you should invent a Chanukah craft and market it!

    Going South for the holidays, you could have a “gritsnukah”…no?

  6. Crystal Says:

    I have not seen any cool Chanukah crafts in blogland, other than yours of course.

    I’ll keep my eyes peeled for anything Chanukah related.

  7. Visty Says:

    Why can’t you live next door to me?

  8. Crystal Says:

    I said I would keep my eyes peeled…

    Go here-http://www.oneprettything.com/?p=2558

    They have good Chanukah stuff.

  9. kirsty815 Says:

    Very Cute Post! Love the “Spin the dreidel or walk the plank”.
    The only site I could come up with was http://www.dltk-kids.com/world/jewish/hanukah.htm and it was a bit lame. Sorry!

    Still I think your Felt Minorah was very cute!

  10. Sarah Says:

    Love Piranukah! I need to start brain-storming for Hannukah crafts and recipes and this is totally inspiring me. Thanks!

  11. Amanda Says:

    That’s really cute, never would have thought to use pirate garb. Love it!

  12. Sara Rivka Says:

    Yes there are some Chanukah crafts out there in blog land, working very very hard to try and fill the obvious void, so do help get the word out!

    http://www.creativejewishmom.com

    Happy Chanukah!

  13. Marcie Says:

    Hi, I found this link thanks to the Crafty Crow. Such a great idea! But I’m so curious, what else did you do to celebrate “piranukah”? Would you mind sharing? Thanks!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.